top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesdays Jan.29, 2020

Updated: Feb 24, 2020

In advanced Sculpture today I had begun the process of starting one of my BFA show chairs that will have a total of five chairs completed. I had come in outside of class to get a majority of the sanding done over the winter break with the palm sander and manual sanding using strips of sandpaper. However since I did not finish the manual sanding over the break, I completed it on the legs of the chair and inner bars of the back support piece. Once that was complete I had then air blasted the chair to get rid of all necessary sand and shavings from the sanding. Then, I then got some wood filler and begun overlooking the chair and filling in the small holes and natural wood gaps to make the surface as smooth as possible for painting. After the wood filler was dry I then proceeded to sand down the remaining filler down with sandpaper and air blast the chair again to reduce the amount of paint chipping. Outside I prepared to setup a spray painting tarp and put on gloves to protect my hands from getting any paint on me. from there I was able to add two coats of light blue to the underside of the chair before it got too dark and cold outside. I plan to complete the spray paint job the following class day on Monday and prepare the chair for the decoration/design process.

images are of the chair before and after sanding


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page