top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesday April 8th

From my last Website Wednesday I was busy problem solving on how to sew claws, fur, google eyes and finishing off the back portion of my chair as planned out by making a fur texture with frosting. I am now happy to report that the purple Kyrary Pamyu Pamyu chair is complete.




Since the completion of the chair, I had also arranged to meet on campus with Leticia Bajuyo and Professor Meg Aubrey to help aid me in taking photographs of the chair since then ass seen in the image above.

But as you can see in the images above there were a lot of modifications and discoveries within my process I had made in between the last post to the finish product I would like to address. For instance, I had refferenced in my last post I was going to be using elastic at the top base of th fur so that wa the fur part of the chair could come off and on for easy moving. However I was not able to find any elastic in the store due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. All of the elastic is being used by other seamstresses and artists making wearable masks to prevent getting sick, so using the elastic for non health reasons was out. So from there I had to come up with a different solution to find a way to get the fur to fit comfortably on the chair legs.

When I was at home, I began looking through my craft supplies to see what I had readily available when I had found some seat cushion foam. Finding that foam reminded me of the time I had a discussion with a graduate student Jakie Negaros about her personal project sewing foam before we had to leave TAMUCC because of COVID-19.

That encounter had left the impression on me that I could try sewing the foam around the chairs legs to provide it with volume and act as a steady base for sewing on the pastel fur.

That idea wet very smoothly and left the chair in perfect shape to actually slide off the fur Bell bottomns later for easy cleaning/moving furniture. I later contacted Jackie Negaros and showed her halfway through sewing the legs on and thanked her for the inspiration. Prior to sewing on the foam I was having a very hard time trying E900, hot glue, and super glue with no luck to adhere the foam. Sewing the foam was the perfect ( and less sticky) solution!

Another discovery I had made when I was working was a rather unfortunate turn of events. As mentioned last post, I was working on sewing 12 glitter claws to sew onto the bottom side of the fur bell bottums. I had completed the individual claws themselves prior to sewing the foam solution so when I finished the bel bottom s and went to sew on the claws I found out they were all too short to see underneath the fur. Having them on there would have been pointless because no one could see them so I then decided to scrap that idea of the claws and move onward to the back of the chair.

From there, the rest of the project went rather smoothly and I was able to frost th entire back of the around chair with fur piping texture with frosting. After that portion was complete I dusted it all with a ombré rainbow glitter sequence to enhance the sparkle and balance the color relationship to the outter round portion/ legs of the chair having rainbow colored fur. After the glitter was applied and sealed with spray adhesion I then added the finishing touch- the monster eyes made from felt, glitter, and repurposed google eyes.

The only modification I made to the eyes from the last post was that I decided to remove the white thick eyelashes.I felt that they no longer contributed to the eyes having been placed on the white fur textured frosting.

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page