top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesday March 25th

For this website Wednesday, I will be going over the vast amount of progress I have made creatively since my post to the blog. There was a large gap in the website Wednesday’s due to the COVID-19 pandemic taking place. However looking toward the future, I have now successfully transferred all creative materials needed to make my chair sculptures from home.

Currently I am working on creating the purple Kyrary Pamyu Pamyu themed chair as my next sculpture.The first step that I had done when working on this chair is gathering some rainbow pastel faux fur that I was increasingly interested in since refferencing the famous pop stars songs: “PonPonPon”, ”Fashion Monster”, and “CandyCandy”. Kyary has a vast difference in style between the three but most eye catching visuals that stuck out to me within the videos is the small toys, over abundance of props, costumes, and fur within the video PonPonPon that spoke to me through texture and sheer amount of transformative props/costumes. So with that in mind, I sought to refference the textural elements of fur and other small items of my own to represent her within the chair (making my own fashion monster!)

When working on the chair, I began by reupholster the chairs cushion with a soft short hair pastel fur that was once actually brand new pillow covers I did not need.From there, I then had gathered a lot of my small toys that I had actually collected over time prior to this project to use as decorative elements on phone cases. There are an estimated 360 small toys that were then adhered by hand to the surface of the chairs surface that is roughly composed of pompoms,a rubber duck, hair clips, googly eyes, fake candy etc. layered upon each other to give off the sense of visual chaos at first but reveals a detailed collection color harmony,rhythm, and beauty.





After the backing of the chair was covered, I then went around the edges of the collection with plain white rubberized silicone frosting and sprinkled it with multi-shine glitter to accentuate the center and act as a frame. From there another layer of frosting was added to the outer edge of the chair in a squiggle pattern to further push the chairs framed nature. On the legs of the chair the frosting is continued but this time I had experimented for about 2 hours on how to create the texture of fur with silicone. For this process I had watched several baking videos that refference me on how to make a monster cake and practiced over and over on a scrap piece of paper until I was satisfied on how to do it properly on my chair.

From there, I then piped the front two legs of the chair and sprinkled that same multi-shine glitter on the surface of it while it was still wet and then assembled a line of faux gems down the center leg of the chair to continue the use of color further down the body of the chair as a whole.




The next day when the silicone frosting was dry, I then took some longer haired pastel fur (that is dyed pink, yellow, and blue) and begun to comb through the layer and separated it with a fine tooth. Once the 3 color layer were separated and brushed, I then cut along the seem of the fabric sheet to have a strip of the 3 colors. I then had begun to cut out the same length of Bristol paper that matched my strip of fur and begun folding it over to make an L shape. Once I had an L shape in the Bristol paper I then folding the fur over the L and hot glued them together so the L was now covered with fur excluding the bottom. From there I was able to super glue the fur L onto the top portion of the chair all the way around the frame.




The chair is currently a work in progress but is ever so close to being completed. I look forward to having my kyary chair to sit in when I watch any of her new music videos come out!



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page