top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesday February 5th, 2020

For this Website Wednesday, I had gone back into the sculpture studio to further complete my Bachelor of Fine Arts show chairs (one of the five to be completed). I had started off by completing the spray paint job of my blue antique chair as spoken about in my last post and have decided to dedicate her to the iconic female Trixie Mattel. From there I will continue to draw different sketches to design all of the decoration all aspects of the project to the traits and characteristics that encompass aspects of Trixie Mattel and properly fit the nature of the chair shape to compliment its features & functionality overall. Who is Trixie Mattel you may ask? Trixie Mattel is the drag persona of Brian Michael Firkus and is an American drag queen, singer-songwriter, Youtube TV host, comedian, and television personality from Milwaukee, Wisconsin. She is an ever growing pop culture sensation in the LGBQ/gay/drag scene of the world and is influencing thousands of people though several of her creative endeavors listed previously. And though watching her shows and listening to new albums, it spoke to me that Trixie is suppose to represent this celebration of over the top feminity and exaggeration of what a women is “suppose“ to be since she daunts elaborate costumes of blonde hair, pink clothes, small waist dresses, and bold makeup. Its a fun poke at the Barbie doll aesthetic and celebrates feminity but also is an imaginative art form of what a drag queen is suppose to be within subversive culture of the LGBQ community.




Getting back into the other activities of my website wednesday, After the spray paint job was complete I then proceeded to wrap up the blue Trixie Chair to continue working on till another time. I then proceeded to work on altering the rocking chair I had procured from my family. My first step in this process was to strip away the top gloss coat of the chair to make sanding easier. After that I then stepped back to remember that I had already included a rocking chair within five BFA show chairs and decided I did not need another. So, I got a chop saw and utilized Silas to help me cut off the rocker feet off and further sanded down the whole body of the chair with a palm sander to make sure there was a fresh surface for paint. From there I will need to continue to sand the legs and supporting back elements of the chair by hand since they are to detailed to use a palm sander on. Once that is complete I will then proceed to fill in any natural wood gaps with wood filler and spray paint the chair.




5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page