top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesday Feb. 26th

For this website Wednesday, I had continued to work on the mini model of the islander gallery three floor plan as well as frosting the green Fran Drescher chair. From the last Wednesday I had only just finished cutting out and gluing together the floor plan room to get an idea of what the space generally looked like according to an inch per foot conversion rate. Then I went on to gather my acrylic paints and take several paint swatches from Walmart to see what was my ideal bubblegum pink color was and to compare it to the pink swatches that would be mixed in walmarts painting department. After looking at swatches and my own paints, I then painted the whole inner walls of the model pink and the floor white to cover any mistakes I had made while in the wall painting process. While the floor plan model was drying, I measured out all five of my chairs in the studio with a measuring tape and wrote down their conversions according to the floor plan model on crafting board so I could cut them out and hot glue the chair models together individually. After the construction of each chair was complete, I then proceeded to take a mixing palette and mixed my five colors that matched my chairs in the studio-pink, blue, yellow, green, and purple. Once all of the mini models were painted just as the large scale pieces I then placed them inside the model as seen in this picture. From there I will then place white square paper underneath each of the chairs measuring out an inch out from which the chair models end to signify the white pedestals that the chairs will be sitting on in my BFA show. In addition, I will be putting cutting out a space in the wall where the door should go in the model just to make sure there is no confusion on where everything is in the model.



Once I had finished working on the model for the day, I then turned my attention to my green Fran chair that needed to still be worked on. I continued to frost the remainder of the beams on the side of the arms and the all of the legs/supporting bars of the chair legs underneath with hand frosted ruffles.And then I had drawn a space on the chair seat that would almost act like a cushion by the end of the frosting process. For the seat design I had chosen to do a basket weave type of frosting technique to help show her love of patterned designs in her clothing ( as referenced in photos below). The ruffles were a stylistic choice I had made that allowed me to add my own touch of flair to her while still acting as a white accent onto the supporting joints of the chair. In addition in a lot of Fran's wardrobe decisions within the show "The Nanny"( as referenced below) involve a white accent in many of her green attire. The photo of reference that I took from Fran Dreschers wardrobe is very patterned and frill oriented with hints of white that inspired me to love this character as well as comedy/attitude. So playing off of her love of patterns, green, and fashion I felt that this chair represented her the best by making it green, her favorite color. These images below are only a few of the fashion references I feel that help connect itself to the chair:









* as mentioned the green Fran Drescher chair photos are a current work in progress*


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page