top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesday Feb. 19

During this website wednesday, I had started by taking several measurements of all five of my BFA show art chairs. There are five chairs total so then proceeded to measure the depth, width, height for each chair in centimeters and wrote them all down. After that I then got the measurements of my BFA show room called islander gallery three. Islander gallery three is where I will be setting up all of my show room chairs as well as the color correlating portraits of famous stars that each of the five chairs originated. Once I had all of the measurements of the room and chairs I then got some poster board to make a small 3D model of the room so that way I could get a better idea of the layout and make sure my chairs and portraits will fit comfortably.



After I had built the model, I then planned to create five smaller rectangles that represent each of the colored chairs and paint them accordingly. In addition, the model will also need a coat of pink paint that I plan to paint the islander gallery three space as well as account for the door space on the model. This is still an ongoing process that is going on outside of class.

However after working on the model, I wanted to come back to the studio and work on decorating and frosting the green chair that was most recently finished within the last post of website wednesday. The chair itself is still a work in progress but I did learn two new techniques that I had not learned prior by working on the chair. I learned how to ruffle wired ribbon by hand without the aid of sewing materials or machinery. I ruffled the ribbon by simply pulling back some of the wired ends of the ribbon and gathering it toward the center while the other end of the ribbons wire is tied to a sturdy object so it does not unravel on the other end. By gathering the ribbon on one side of the wire it ruffles it but still allows for it to have a lot of structure to manipulate how tight or loose I want the shape of the ruffles to be. Once two and a half yards of ribbon was ruffled I then cut and finished off the ends of the ribbon by lightly burning the ends of ribbon with a lighter to prevent ribbon from unraveling and hot glued it to the sides of the chair seat.


Once the hot glue was dry, I setup my frosting mixture of silicone caulking ( shrink proof, water proof, low oder, paintable, and water soluble for easy cleanup) and placed it inside a piping bag with switchable frosting tips to allow me to frost ruffles onto the chair legs and arms. Frosting these ruffles onto the chair was a new technique I learned though some youtube videos in which I watched a woman pipe several different type of frosting waves, ruffles, swirls etc onto a cake to help me learn some different frosting tips do as well as how to frost ruffles using a flat slanted tip. I practiced this technqiue several times on a plastic cup and newspaper before committing to frosting the chair but overall I am very happy on how these ruffles turned out. I will keep practicing on how I can keep learning new techniques to contribute to my chairs.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page