top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVictoria Morales

Website Wednesday April 1st

For this website Wednesday I have been experimenting with the purple chair in terms of sewing. In my original design for the purple Kyary Pamyu Pamyu chair I had drawn these types of furry monster feet for the bottom of the chair in reference to her song Fashion Monster. Within this song she has a lot of Halloween themed textures like fur, tulle, patterns, props etc. but what made me want this texture so badly within the chair is the large puffs on her sleeves in particular. However looking at the current design of the chair I have chosen to use pastel fur so to further carry your eye downward and have balance within the piece I decided to make fur “Monster” legs that have a lot of volume as her shoulder costume within the monster themed video.


Currently, I am still working on creating a pattern for the monster legs to have just the right amount of volume and be able to easily detach from the chair when moving it. As a sewing refference, I have been watching YouTube videos on how to make furry rave leg warmers. These types of leg warmers in particular are worn for dancers and are good as a starting model to refference since they are able to withstand a lot of movement on a dancer and have a lot of volume that give it a fun appeal.



In addition, I have also drawn a rough sketch of what I am generally aiming for the end result of the chair legs to look like in the end.






As seen in the drawing, I also have some monster claws added to the ends of the feet or optional to place them on the bottoms of the fluffy leg warmer. I have also been working on creating a total of 12 iridescent sparkle claws for the ends of the monster feet. Each one of these claws is hand made with a specialized felt that I had gotten from the craft store.


After the legs and claws are complete I will continue to then adorn the back of the chair with a vast amount of piping that resembles fur out of the silicone frosting I have made. Once the fur is made I would then like to adhere monster eyes I have made to the back for an extra fun pop. I had spent some time sketching out what I wanted the eyes to look like and in the end I was very satisfied with combining different elements of all the eyes I had drawn.





The eyes are custom googly eyes I had glitterized purple to match the rest of the chair.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page